Ways to Be Me-9780702308352

Ways to Be Me

Regular price
£7.99
Sale price
£7.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

By: Scott, Libby
Format: Paperback / softback
Published By: Scholastic
Date of Publication: 01/07/21
ISBN13\EAN\SKU: 9780702308352
Dimensions in mm: 129 x 197 x 25
Description: From the bestselling author duo behind Can You See Me? comes this exceptional portrayal of autism diagnosis, with diary entries by 12-year-old autistic author Libby Scott. Taking place before Can You See Me? and Do You Know Me? this standout prequel follows Tally through her autism diagnosis in her final year of primary school. Ten-year-old Tally had high hopes for Year 6. Being in the top class at school means a whole host of privileges, but even better than that is the school production - and Tally is convinced she'll win the lead role. But at home, things aren't going so well. Mum and Dad have been making Tally feel pressured and upset, and Tally wishes things didn't bother her so much - but they do, and sometimes she feels so misunderstood and frustrated, she could explode. Then Tally's mum and dad tell her about something she's never heard about before. Something called autism. And everything changes. The third book written in collaboration with Libby Scott & prequel to the bestselling Can You See Me? When Libby's mum shared a short piece of Libby's writing online it soon went viral, with tens of thousands of people saying that Libby's writing helped them understand autism for the first time This fictionalised portrayal of a young autistic girl is written by Rebecca Westcott, in close collaboration with Libby Scott, making it a truly original and inspirational book that will give readers of all ages a deeper understanding of what it's like to be autistic Perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy, Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time PRAISE FOR CAN YOU SEE ME 'This is a powerful and highly relatable story about fitting in and being yourself. Tally's diary entries give an authentic insight into one girl's perspective of being autistic, and smashing a host of common assumptions and stereotypes about autism as we see Tally's potent sense of humour and her deep empathy.' Booktrust 'Recommended for readers with autism who will feel genuinelyseen and for those desiring to see others more clearly' Kirkus