Salt to the Sea-9780141347400

Salt to the Sea

Regular price
£7.99
Sale price
£7.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

By: Sepetys, Ruta
Format: Paperback / softback
Published By: Penguin Random House Children's UK
Date of Publication: 04/02/2016
ISBN13\EAN\SKU: 9780141347400
Classification: General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Dimensions in mm: 195 x 124 x 26
Description: WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed. This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story. 'Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction' Elizabeth Wein, author of CODE NAME VERITY