Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey-9780062970428

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

Regular price
£12.99
Sale price
£12.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

By: Kelly, Erin Entrada
Format: Hardback
Published By: HarperCollins
Date of Publication: 04/05/2021
ISBN13\EAN\SKU: 9780062970428
Classification: Children's & young adult fiction & true stories
Dimensions in mm: 148 x 200 x 20
Description:

Utterly endearing!Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting. Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Raineyan irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Timesbestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

Marisol Raineys mother was born in the Philippines. Marisols father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but shes way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)the only girl whos fearful of adventure and fun.

Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.

Told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on nearly every page, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker,and Kate DiCamillo.

Features black-and-white artwork throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.